It all began in 1818 when Nicolas François Billecart and Elisabeth Salmon founded a Champagne House that was above all conscious of the excellence of its wines.
Since then, every member of the Billecart family has been committed to perpetuate the family tradition through standing by the immutable oath: ‘Give priority to quality, strive for excellence’.
Proof of this eternal demand: the family garden at the BILLECART-SALMON estate.
This garden was redesigned in 1926 in a French style under the guidance of Charles Roland-Billecart. The idea of his project was to create a garden at the heart of the village, enclosed by walls surrounded by lime trees primed in to a canopy, with boxwood enbroidery, lawns and flowerbeds.
The garden was kept in this style until 1999, when a storm destroyed the remaining old trees, leaving only one chestnut tree soon to be 200 years old. Francois Roland-Billecart, therefore decided to enlarge his grandfather’s garden by adjoining the part of it that had stayed out of sight. He entrusted this project to his sister
From the foundation of the House of BILLECART-SALMON in 1818 until now, each generation has invested in the preservation of this garden. Furthermore the family has thrown itself in to modernising the art of their wine making descended from nearly two centuries of experience.
With a background of the best champenois tradition, the House of BILLECART-SALMON sways between excellence and demand, keen to convey their love of champagne whilst cultivating a certain amount of mystery.
Just Wine partners with the finest bars, restaurants, wineries and retailers from around the world!